First Impressions: School 2017

Not the best school drama out there but so many things have changed since I’ve watched a school drama. Now that I’m not in high school, I can’t exactly relate to how the characters are feeling anymore. What I liked about School 2013 and 2015 was that a big theme in the drama was bullying (well in 2013, it was the bromance). I’m really not sure what kind of theme School 2017 is trying to take on here –  it’s a lot about violence and mystery. At the same time, I could see a bit of School 2013 in here in that we have delinquents and students who are just trying to get by. There’s a lot of school politics as usual – rich parents basically own the whole school and get their troublesome children out of trouble. It’s super ridiculous how the school moms can be – they’re so annoying to the point it’s funny. In this case, it seems like the school moms don’t actually have control over their own children, though so it’s an interesting take.

I must say I’m a little biased because I don’t really know these actors and actresses; they’re all pretty new people to me. I do know Kim Sejeong since she was part of IOI and I’m pretty surprised that she’s acting so well. I’m not sure if there’s a love line or anything but I’m already shipping the main leads (and for no apparent reason – not like they even had real romantic interactions yet). I’m actually taking on this drama since I don’t have anything to watch but I think it’ll be a good run – the plot is pretty interesting and I’m ready for some angst, mystery, and annoying school politics.

One thought on “First Impressions: School 2017

Leave a Reply

