Tomorrow With You First Impressions

I find it really funny that Lee Je Hoon did Signal, which was about communicating with the past, and this time he’s doing a drama about traveling to the future. I was really looking forward to this drama because of Lee Je Hoon and Shin Minah and it really exceeded my expectations. Not going to lie, I was really confused in the beginning of the drama, so if I missed anything, it was probably because I wasn’t paying attention. I think it’s really interesting how Yoo So Joon (Lee Je Hoon) can travel to the future and he learns about his own death, which is coming in 3 years. The weirdest thing is that he also learns that Song Ma Rin (Shin Minah) dies on the same day, at the same time as him, which is why he goes on a quest to find out who she is and how they’re related. I feel like So Joon is trying to change his future, but does the future really change? Has anyone read the book (I forgot the title, sorry!) about a boy who’s able to see when people die, but when he tries to save his mom, he realizes that it’s fate? Like, no matter what you do, you can’t save them?

I hope the dark undertone of death wouldn’t overpower the overall entertaining aspects of the drama. Dramas can be both serious and funny at the same time (see: Missing 9). I have to admit that I love dramas that have to do with life and death; I just find it so attractive because it puts a meaningful aspect into the drama. And for those who are worried that it might be confusing to have the storyline jumping back and forth between present and future, the drama actually does a good job of distinguishing between the two. Obviously, it tells us what time period we are in, but the whole screen also shrinks like how they do in movies, showing that it’s different from the present.

I love how Shin Minah portrays her character and I’m loving her drunk scenes from the first episode. I have to admit though, the first time we meet So Joon, he seems like such a creep. I get that he’s trying to save Ma Rin from the car accident, but he’s a little too touchy for that. And the reason why I brought up whether the future can change or not is because So Joon tries to save Ma Rin from the car accident, but she ends up passing out anyway, even though she wasn’t physically hurt by the car. I’m guessing some aspects of the future can change if you try to intervene, but things that are supposed to happen, will happen sometime and that’s something you can’t prevent. The other time traveler is also really mysterious. I don’t exactly know what he’s up to and his relationship with So Joon is, why he knows so much about the future, but I’ll just wait to find out. In the meantime, I really enjoy reading other people’s theories about him and the drama in general.

One thought on “Tomorrow With You First Impressions

Leave a Reply

